Since its inception the Atalanta Owners Association has maintained and offered Trophies to encourage and thank owners for their efforts with the boats. Fairey Marine started the process with the Atalanta Trophy for the Round the Island Race and through the years further trophies have been donated by owners or established by the Association.

Read about the trophies and see who has won them in each year below.

AOA Atalanta Trophy

The Atalanta Trophy - a wooden model of A12 1958

First Atalanta in the West Mersea Regatta (previously Round the Island Race)

Wooden Model of A12 in a glass case.  The Atalanta Trophy was created by Fairey Marine in 1958 and awarded to the first Atalanta in the Isle of Wight ‘Round the Island’ race. It is a wooden model of A12 in a glass case. ...


AOA Etchells Trophy

The silver Etchells Trophy 1964

Best Log published in The Bulletin

Silver model of an Atalanta in a glass case. The ‘Etchells’ was first presented at the AGM on 6 January 1965 in memory of HF Etchells. Harry was the first Secretary of the AOA and owner of A4 Snuffbox.
The model was originally made by Harold Meader who owned ...


AOA Odling Trophy


Best Technical Article published in The Bulletin

Painting of A71 Blue Jackaroo by Alan Vines. The trophy is the second painting taken from a photograph of A171 Blue Jackaroo. This time the painting was by Alan Vines whose imagination and foresight with Fairey Marine gave us the Atalanta. It was presented to the Association in ...


AOA Coupe Bernard Argod Trophy


For activities on The South Coast (UK)

Silver Cup. The Coupe Bernard Argod was donated by Bernard Argod who livein Paris as a trophy for Solent to Cherbourg race. M.Argoed was a French importer for the Atalanta. He imported A136 as a demonstrator at the Paris Boat Show in 1962 and this led to more ...


AOA Sinclair Trophy

The AOA Sinclair trophy awarded for 'Services to the Association' is a painting of A171 Blue Jackaroo. 1981

Services to the AOA

Painting of A71 Blue Jackaroo by owner EL Sinclair. The painting was created from a photograph of A171 which was also used as the basis for a second painting by Alan Vines which became the Odling Trophy. It was presented to the Association in 1980 in memory of EL Sinclair ...


AOA Charles Currey Trophy

The silver Etchells Trophy 2004

Most Adventurous Journey written up in the Bulletin

Silver model of an Atalanta in a glass case. This is a second silver model (like the Etchells Trophy). This had been owned privately and ended up in an Auction room. Colin Twyford and Dominic Dobson went along with a view to buying it and ended up in ...


AOA John Searle Trophy


Major Boat Restorations

Individual Plaque each year awarded. This award started as a plaque awarded to singificant restorations of an Atalanta, Titania, Fulmar or Atalanta 31. It became known as the John Searle award in 2004, in memory of the former AOA Vice Commodore who died on New Year’s in that year. John was an avid ...


This content is available to members only. Please login or register to view this area.

See the awards for a particular year by using the ‘Filter’ at the top of the Year column. Clear the filters to see all awards.
Sort the table by clicking on the column headings.

wdt_ID Trophy Year AwardedTo Sailno Boatname Award
1 Coupe Bernard 1961 J Strubbe A48 Atala Solent-Cherbourg Race
2 Coupe Bernard 1979 KW Rowe A30 Trio Informal race on The Solent
3 Coupe Bernard 1980 DG Lovelock A102 Atalanta Mary For Organising the South Coast Rally
4 Coupe Bernard 1981 JPB Mourant A7 Alouette de Mer Journey from The Scillies to Gosport
5 Coupe Bernard 1982 DMC Best F64 Fairie Queen Organising Southampton meeting
6 Coupe Bernard 1983 CMAR Roberts F47 Popeye Article “A Seagull Standing” 1983/84
7 Coupe Bernard 1984 D & A Lovelock A102 Atalanta Mary South Coast Forum
8 Coupe Bernard 1985 G Parker A87 Globulin Visit to the Channel Isles
9 Coupe Bernard 1986 no award
10 Coupe Bernard 1987 D & A Lovelock A102 Atalanta Mary Race from Poole to Cherbourg