• Creator
    Topic
    fraser20000
    Participant

Hello again

I am a few days away from digging into the repair of the of Blue jackaroo and noticed some bubbles under the paint of her hull.

nails

Nail I picked at

I am not sure if these are part of the normal hull? or what they are doing at all to be honest. the corrosion looks a little odd to me.

In any event what would be the best way to go about sorting this? I am considering treating them with something to harden the corrosion then epoxying over them but i am a complete novice so i am not sure. the wood looks fine other than the gouging.

The paint is raised on all of them I assume because of the corrosion I just picked away at this one to see what was going on because I feared rot was under each of them.

Any help would be greatly appreciated

Fraser

Viewing 0 reply threads
  • Author
    Replies
      AOA
      Keymaster

Hi Fraser

A lot of boats have experienced this problem at some point. Indeed my boat A124 has a few similar looking screws.

You are looking at dying brass screws, which have ‘de-zincified’. Fairey Marine used these brass screws through the hull above and below the waterline to fasten the internal framing / stringers. Over the years the salt water gets to the screws and starts to corrode them. The corrosion causes the paint to crack off which is useful as a warning sign.
      In many cases he screws become so weak that you are unlikely to be able to unscrew them – the slots and/or heads just break off. The corrosion can also weaken the wood in contact with the screw.

I would love to hear how other people deal with their corroded screws as I have not yet found a method I am completely happy with.

I have tried a couple of approaches:

• Drilling out the screw, priming the hole with unthickened epoxy, filling the hole with thickened epoxy, re-drill, new screw and making good
        • This has worked in some cases for me.